Open Up the Jungle Book!

August 5, 2009

Again, my apologies for not updating this blog!  But I guess since I’m here, I might as well get busy catching up!

In my last post, I mentioned that my grandma was in ICU.  Now, 2 months later, she is still in the hospital but doing better on almost every count.  She still has some physical therapy to go through to get back to where she was before her back surgery but we are all praying that she will be able to make the progress she needs to make to get back to her home and her life.  We are all very thankful that she is still with us and that she can now talk and eat food again.

In late June, Jana and Heidi and their kids came to Kansas City for a visit.  We had a great time!  My kids and I spent several nights at my mom and dad’s house as well so it was definitely a full house but the kids had a wonderful time hanging out with their cousins for so many days in a row.  Alley purchased her first digital camera during that week and she took lots of great pics of everyone (and some not-so-great pics of me  :).

Our other big news of the summer is that Alley finally got to be onstage in a play, with a speaking part!  It all started a few months ago when my mom found out about a local theater who does a summer program for kids when some cast members came in the thrift store where she works to get props.  She told me about it and I looked it up online.  I signed her up for the program but she ended up being on the waiting list.  I basically put it out of my mind, thinking she wouldn’t ge to do it this year.  Well, a few days before Jana and Heidi left, I got an email telling me she was next in line and there was a space for her.  So, I found out more details, talked with Michael and then we talked with Alley.  She said she definitely wanted to do it.  It was a big commitment for us and for her–she had to go from 10 am to 4 pm every weekday for 14 days and then they would perform the play (The Jungle Book) 3 evenings at the end of the month.  She didn’t know anyone and it was about a 25 minute drive each way to take her.  We told them we would be there!  We attended a parent’s meeting on July 8.  She went to 2 days of practice and then they assigned parts.  She was cast as Mowgli!  We were very surprised–not because we didn’t think she could do it but because we assumed there would be lots of kids with more theater experience there.  She had only been in one other play about 4 years ago and didn’t have a speaking part.  We were very proud of her!  The performances were last week on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evening and she did a fantastic job.  She was very expressive in her voice and body language.  She was great!

She once told me when she was about 4 years old that she wanted to be on the stage with the light shining on her and she got her wish last week!  She was so excited about the whole thing and we are praying for more opportunities for her to develop her talent.

I haven’t had a chance to download pics yet but I will try to get that done soon… we really didn’t get to take too many since they didn’t allow recording during the play.

Now, to finish up the summer and get ready to begin school again in a few weeks!

One Response to “Open Up the Jungle Book!”

  1. Jana said

    I am so proud of her and am glad you helped her pursue her dream! Good parents! 🙂 Love and miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

