Baby Book Entry

January 13, 2009

I was talking to my sister this morning and was telling her a couple of funny things that Dresden has said lately and so I remembered that I should put them on here so we can laugh at them in the future. 🙂

In a recent post I mentioned that Dresden was saying things like “pink one room”.  Well, she just stopped saying it one day and I miss it 🙂 but she has now begun talking about her “great great grandma”.  As far as I can tell, this is a fictional person she has made up, possibly like an imaginary friend, since she has never met any of her great great grandparents.  One day a few weeks ago I couldn’t find a pack of my gum.  I finally found it in the refrigerator and asked her about it, assuming she did it.  She said, “My great great Grandma put it in there.”  Since then she has told us that her great great Grandma is a “big giant that reaches up to the ceiling” and various other unbelievable details.  Today, Michael mentioned a documentary about sharks that he was going to watch and Dresden said, “My great great Grandma likes sharks!”  Who knows how long this phase will last…she is our first child that has had an “imaginary ancestor” so this is all new to us!

We also sometimes tell her she is silly after she has said or done something silly.  She ALWAYS-without fail- responds with, “I’m not silly, I’m funny!”  She might come downstairs with a silly-looking outfit on and we’ll say, “You’re silly!”  not even thinking about her usual response but she always remembers.  The other night, Michael was taking the Christmas boxes down to the basement and she was talking to him about something and he told her she was silly.  She said, ” I’m not silly, I’m funny!” and he said,” No, I’m funny and you’re silly.”  And she said, “No, I’m funny and you’re silly!”  And he said,” That’s what I said, I’m funny and you’re silly!”  This went on for several more rounds and it’s probably one of those you-had-to-be-there moments but it was cute (and funny and silly) and I wanted to remember it.  She is quite the character, to say the least!

Megan isn’t entertaining us with cute words yet but she is keeping us on our toes!  She has been crawling since right around the time we put our Christmas tree up and has just been getting faster and faster.  She is also now pulling up on everything!  She does say one word…if she sees her reflection in a mirror or the car window she usually says, “hi”.  It’s very soft and sometimes it isn’t any more than just the “h” sound but sometimes it is pretty clear.  She will also sometimes say it back to us if she is in a very happy mood, like when she first wakes up in the morning.  So sweet.

She is currently on two different antibiotics…one for thrush which she takes once a day and one for a bad ear infection that she developed last week which she takes twice per day.  She hasn’t done too bad taking it but it is alot to keep up with for 10-14 days.

I’m going to try to get my Christmas pictures uploaded and a post about our holiday festivities posted very soon!  Hope you are all enjoying 2009 so far!dscn1922dscn1926

Leave a Reply

