Happy Anniversary to Us!

November 22, 2008

Today is our 11th Anniversary.  It fell on Saturday this year, just like the year we got married, which was fun.  Michael had to work tonight so we actually went out to dinner last night.  We left the kids with my parents and went to the 54th Street Grill which neither of us had ever been to before.  Being that it was Friday night, we did have to wait about 20 minutes for a table but it was good food and it was nice to have a meal without being interrupted by the little people who surround us 24/7!  (Don’t get me wrong…we love them dearly but sometimes we like to hear each other’s voices!)  Right before we left my parent’s house, my mom gave me an old note I had written to Michael before we got married, sometime during our engagement year.  She had found it stuck in a Bible study book on their book shelf and thought we might want it.  We each read it during dinner and it was fun to reminisce about that time so many years ago.

Today was a pretty normal day.  Michael had an early class at church so he was gone until almost 10 am.  Then he went to bed because he worked last night from midnight-6am and he was pretty wiped out.  Alley shooed me out of the kitchen and called Mimi to walk her through the process of baking shortbread cookies all by herself.  This was a plan they had cooked up last night while we were out to dinner!  She even snuck two sticks of butter home with her!  She did a great job and I was very proud of her for doing something like that all by herself.  Later, I took three of the kids to Wal-Mart with me to get a few groceries for the weekend since we are planning on going out of town this week and didn’t need alot of food.  We’ve been here this evening, just enjoying being together.  I was folding a few baskets of laundry earlier and I was thinking about how days like today is what we were hoping for on that day eleven years ago when we said “I do.”  We were looking forward to a home with children and sharing life together.  So, even though today was a low-key, normal Saturday, it was a good reminder of what marriage is all about-making a life and a home together.

One Response to “Happy Anniversary to Us!”

  1. mom said

    great blog! I am glad I was able to help you have a good celebration by keeping the kids and making plans behind your back! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

