House Hunt Update

July 12, 2008

I haven’t written much so far about our house hunting process but we think it might be finally coming to an end!  We have been looking for what seems like months…we looked some back in January with the hope of finding something and moving before Megan was born but we changed our minds and decided to stay put until early fall.  So, when my mom got her real estate license a few months ago, we started looking again at the same time that we were getting pre-approved.  We saw one house back in May and we both liked it but it needed some updating, mostly carpet and paint, and we weren’t quite ready to make an offer.  We kept looking, continuing to debate the pros and cons of different houses and different areas.  We found one house that was foreclosure property and the price was great.  We knew it would need a little work but then we thought it had an offer on it so we looked some more.  We found 2 houses…Michael liked one better and I liked the other better!  After more talking, we chose the one I liked  🙂 because it really was in GREAT shape.  It was only 3 bedrooms and one living area but it was nice and we loved the location.  We made an offer on it but our top dollar was still lower than her bottom dollar and so it fell through.  I was very disappointed, partly because I loved the house and partly because I was getting really tired of looking!  I didn’t want to be back at square one!  My mom and I went back out looking some more and after seeing 3 houses that I didn’t like very well or wouldn’t meet our needs very well, my mom mentioned the house we had seen in May.  It was still on the market so we went back over to look at it again.  It still needs paint and carpet and some general updating, like removal of old wallpaper in the bathrooms and kitchen, but overall, it is a good house.  It has 4 very good sized bedrooms, 2.5 baths (one right off the family room), an eat-in kitchen and a dining room, a formal living room and a huge family room.  It has a 2 car garage, a privacy fenced backyard, a deck, and an unfinished basement for laundry and storage.  The floorplan and space is very livable for a family with 4 kids who will all be getting bigger in the years to come!  The paint and carpet will need to be done ASAP but I think it will look great when that is done. The best part is that it is cheaper than many of the houses we have looked at.  We should find out today if the final offer has been accepted but it looks pretty good right now.  It is nice to know that God is sovereign and that He knows what is best for us even when we think we know.  He loves us and protects us and leads us and so often, we can quickly see that His plan is best. I don’t have any pics yet but I’ll post some as soon as I can get some.  I’ll keep you posted!

One Response to “House Hunt Update”

  1. Heidi said

    Congrats!!! I’m so happy for y’all 🙂 I can’t wait to come see it! Can you believe all the thinking, looking and weighing of options is OVER??

Leave a Reply

