The Big 3-0

March 22, 2008

dscn0981a.jpgThis week I celebrated my 30th birthday. I was not really looking forward to this “milestone” birthday but I think anticipating it was worse than it actually was! 🙂

Alley and Liam started the day by bringing me breakfast in bed along with a very sweet handmade card. After that, we all got ready and I took the kids over to a friend’s house so I could go to lunch with my mom. She took me to a well-known restaurant in Kansas City near the plaza that has been in business for about 50 years. I had never been there and it was a nice treat. After that, we went a short distance to an awesome kitchen store that has every kitchen tool and gadget you could ever need. My mom let me pick out a gift from there and I finally settled on a dark purple Fiesta-ware medium sized platter to go with a few serving dishes I already had. She also got me a pie crust shield (which will come in handy tomorrow morning when I make a quiche for our church Easter Brunch!). We picked up the kids and took them back to my parent’s house and then I headed home to meet Michael. Our plan WAS to go to an early $2 movie and then to dinner but he got stuck in traffic on the way home from work and we didn’t have enough time to make it to the movie…so, we decided to go eat and then stop at Babies R Us and Target to look at and buy a few needed baby items. We then went back to my parent’s house for a yummy birthday cake. It was a full day but a fun day.

Here is a picture I took of a letter from Alley I found on my bed later in the day. I hope you can see it well enough to read it. (Homeschooling note: She spelled everything correctly on her own and her handwriting is neat!)

4 Responses to “The Big 3-0”

  1. Aunt Jane said

    What a great day…kids just know how to make it special. You are a great mom and your kids are very smart…look at their mom. Homeschooling sees to agree with all of you=) I am glad your day was special…Love you, A. Jane

  2. MOM said

    I had a great time with you on your birthday. I loved taking you to one of my favorite Kansas City restaurants. Yummm! I am glad you enjoyed Pryde’s Old Westport too. I am looking forward to a piece of your Quiche at church in the morning. Love, MOM
    Happy Big 3-0 again! You took it better than I did many years ago. It was actually my hardest birthday, worse than 40 or even 50! Hope it is not for you. I love you! Mom

  3. Jana said

    Tara, Glad you had a good birthday and that your kiddos helped to make it extra special! Looking forward to seeing you soon. Happy Easter! Love you!

  4. Kathy Nelzen said

    Tara,
    How can you (and Jerermy) be 30 when I keep telling people I am 35? Guess I’ll bump it up a little, huh?

Leave a Reply

