Miscellaneous

June 22, 2007

misc-june-07-024a.jpgmisc-june-07-021a.jpgmisc-june-07-020a.jpgmisc-june-07-011a.jpgmisc-june-07-012a.jpgmisc-june-07-009a.jpg

I feel like I have only written summary-type blog posts lately, with everything going on but I guess that is better than nothing!  Besides, I know all you really care about are the photos!

 So, in summary…

Alley has been trying to learn to ride a bike without training wheels which is a little difficult with us living in an apartment but we were able to give her some practice time at my Grandpa’s house last week.  She did pretty well…in the grass!  Maybe next time we can venture out onto the driveway!  Dresden received a small bike as a gift so she wouldn’t be left out of the bike and scooter riding there and she thought she was on top of the world!

The kids and I had a “Fun Day” with my Aunt and Uncle last Friday.  We were all getting over colds, but were feeling much better than we had been, so we thought a day out would be good.  We had lunch at McDonalds and then headed out to a park about 20 minutes from here to play on the little beach area next to a little lake.  They said they liked it because there weren’t many people there.  We got there and found 2 vans full of kids from a day camp there!  But they were only there part of the time and then we had the sand and the water (and the lifeguard) to ourselves.  That was nice until it started sprinkling!  It didn’t last long but we had already gathered our things so we stopped for a few minutes at a playground and then headed home.

Michael has recently been placed on the “on-call” rotation at work and so far it hasn’t been too bad.  He has to answer a company cell phone and sometimes find a replacement to cover a shift but he gets paid for each turn he takes. 

I have started taking a ladies Bible study on Wednesday nights at church called The Excellent Wife by Martha Peace.  We are only a few chapters into it but I am enjoying it so far.  It is challenging and I think it will get more so but I know that’s a good thing!  We are learning that after God, our ministry to our husband is to be our greatest priority.  I have also been reading a book by Sally Clarkson called The Mission of Motherhood (which I highly recommend) but since it focuses on the great responsibility and privilege it is to be a mother, I have felt torn!  It just reminds me that the only way I can ever hope to do even some of what I should be doing for my husband and my children is by God’s grace alone! 

Vacation Bible School is starting next week for us and the kids are getting excited.  I have volunteered to help but don’t know yet where I will be working.  I am looking forward to being there but not looking forward to using all the extra gas required in making several more round trips to church than usual, since we live about 20 minutes from there!

The day after VBS is over, our good friend, Jon, is flying in for a long weekend visit.  We haven’t seen him since December so we are looking forward to having him around for a few days and to taking him out to experience some legendary Kansas City BBQ!

Tonight we have a meeting of our church home fellowship group and I need to get off the computer, get Dresden down for a nap and decide what finger food I want to take!  Have a good weekend!

2 Responses to “Miscellaneous”

  1. jephguinan said

    I’m logged in as Jeph somehow, but this is Heidi. I love your updates since we aren’t there so see everyone. I guess blogging has to come after being an excellent wife and a nurturing mother?? Geesh 🙂 j/k I understand and I only have one (almost 2!) taking up my time. We love y’all!

  2. lisa said

    i can’t believe how big they are!! i hope to get to see you guys soon. miss you so much.

Leave a Reply

