Big Burton Thanksgiving 2006

November 23, 2006

My cousin Lisa and Aunt Janie doing clean-up after the big meal!
Various Burton relatives playing football in Uncle Roger’s yard.
Michael, Liam and Dresden playing softball in the background. Various Burton vehicles in the foreground!
Uncle Roger holding Steven. Unfortunately, my camera wouldn’t work fast enough to get the next pose…Steven holding Uncle Roger!
This Thanksgiving was different from most past Thanksgivings in that my little family celebrated with my bigger extended family instead of with my parents and sisters, like most years. I can’t even remember the last time I celebrated Thanksgiving in Kansas City. We missed being with our family in Bristol but also enjoyed the hours with my grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins. There were 20 of us there and we had quite a feast. The table was decorated beautifully and Alley told me later that she thought the turkey was “exquisite”, a word we were defining in school recently!
The temperature was in the 70s and my grandma said it was supposed to be the warmest Thanksgiving in Kansas City ever. The gorgeous fall day drove many of us outside. My uncle Ross and Aunt Jane took all three of my kids to the park a few blocks up the street and then several tossed a football in the yard. Liam tried hitting a ball with a bat, a skill he is going to have to work on quite a bit more! Some of us just visited on the front porch and others in the house on the couch. After a cup of coffee and a few pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, Michael and the kids and I headed up to see my Grandma Harrison for a couple of hours. It was a fun day, but as usual, my favorite part was what we did before we left home this morning and that was sharing our Thanksgiving lists with the rest of our family (my parents and sisters and their families) via speakerphone. In the past when we some of us couldn’t be there, we sent our lists through email and let someone else read them but with digital phones giving us unlimited long distance, we decided to try calling and it was great. It was a special time of remembering and being thankful together. As always, many things were listed on others lists that I hadn’t thought of but for which I am also thankful. I was reminded once again of how truly blessed we are to have a family who takes the time to be truly thankful for as many of the blessings from God that we can conciously think of. I really think Thanksgiving is one of my favorite days of the year because of that hour and a half or so that it takes us to share our lists and because our attention is on God and on what HE has done for us, spiritually, physically, financially, emotionally, relationally, and even the smallest things in our lives that He has given us, and on being thankful for each other. I hope your Thanksgiving was as special as ours!
4 Responses to “Big Burton Thanksgiving 2006”

  1. Dad said

    We missed you all being here very much. It was nice to hear your lists, even though by phone. It still made us feel connected. Love you!!

  2. heidihttp://guinan.blogspot.com said

    We really missed y’all yesterday!! I am excited about seeing everyone at Christmas! love ya!

  3. Mom said

    I have to agree that Thanksgiving has been my favorite day of the year ever since we started the sharing of our lists. We have not missed one Thanksgiving of doing that since Heidi was in the 2nd grade! It is my favorite day for the same reason. We spend a long while together focusing on God and His blessings….what HE has done!
    Love, Mom

  4. Mom said

    I figured out that it has been done for 17 years! Wow!

Leave a Reply

