Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

November 20, 2006


I have made the Taste of Home Pumpkin Chip cookie recipe a few times before and I was planning on making them again this year but I forgot that they called for quick oats and I didn’t have any, so…..I went to the internet and found a recipe that didn’t call for quick oats and didn’t contain any ingredients that I did not already have on hand. I made them and they were really good. I am planning on making another batch tomorrow or Wednesday with the remainder of my can of pumpkin and the rest of the bag of chocolate chips. Yum!

PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cloves
pinch nutmeg
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 c white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 cup chocolate chips or raisins (might be good with dried cranberries too)
1/2 to 1 cup walnuts or pecans, optional

Preheat oven to 350. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper (I just used my stone cookie sheet and pizza stone without parchment paper). Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and spices. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars. Beat in egg, then vanilla, then pumpkin. Add flour mixture and stir until just blended. Stir in chocolate chips/nuts. Drop by TBSP and bake for 12-14 minutes. Bake til lightly browned at edges, but not dark. Cool on wire rack. 3 1/2 dozen.
Note: I had to bake mine a full 15 minutes. I’m not sure if this was due to my oven or maybe the stones, but the first tray I baked 12 minutes and then took them out and realized they needed more time so put them back in for a few more minutes and they weren’t as good as the ones I left in for a full 15 minutes.

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe”

  1. jana said

    Tara, I know your post is about cookies, but the picture you posted shows your canisters in the background—and I just wanted to say—Isn’t it nice to have your own kitchen, your own counter tops and your own canisters to use while making your pumpkin cookies?! Welcome HOME to your very own kitchen!! πŸ™‚ (Is having your own kitchen on your list this year?!) πŸ™‚ Love ya!

  2. Dad said

    I understand those cookies can be shipped without any loss of quality.

Leave a Reply

