Stuff

November 8, 2006

In case you can’t see the label very well in this picture, this is Musselmans Apple Cranberry Applesauce and it is very good! I should have taken this picture when the jar was still full (it would have looked much nicer) but when it was still full, I didn’t know how good it was going to be! I am going to buy another jar and maybe 2 or 3 more jars while they still have them. I would recommend you get some and try it if you can find it. I got this at a grocery store here called Hen House but I would think it would be in most good grocery stores.

Speaking of food, I have been shopping at Aldi’s since we moved into our apartment. It is a different shopping experience, as you have to come prepared to bag your own groceries, including bringing bags. You can buy bags there for 5 or 10 cents, depending on what kind you want or you can use the boxes they put out when they are empty. I started grabbing 3 or 4 plastic grocery sacks from my collection at home and sticking them in my purse but I usually also use some of their boxes for bulky but lightweight things. Anyway, you can’t find absolutely everything you might need/want there but it is great for the basics, especially if you aren’t picky about brand names. I have bought cheese, hamburger, chips, pretzel sticks, canned fruit, vegetables, beans and tomatoes, milk, eggs, sour cream, tortillas, bananas, tomatoes, cottage cheese, pasta and pasta sauce. This is just what is off the top of my head. I went last week and spent $61.07. I did have to go get a few things at another store, like Belgian waffle mix, and we have needed a few extra things since then but that’s pretty good for feeding a family a 5. I know there aren’t Aldi’s everywhere but if you happen to live near one, I would recommend checking it out.

We have some unusually warm weather here in Kansas City the last few days. Yesterday it reached 82 degrees! We went to the zoo with my grandma. It was the perfect day to go to the zoo. It was not too hot, not too cold, and the zoo was not overly crowded but lots of animals were out. I also love seeing all the leaves on the ground and all the beautifully colored ones still on the trees. I just stepped outside to take the dog out and it feels like its going to be another gorgeous day. We’ll have to figure out a good way to take advantage of it while we still can!

I also need to begin writing my annual Thanksgiving List. This is one of my favorite family traditions. My dad called last night to see if we had a speaker phone so we could read our lists over the phone to each other instead of sharing them in person like we usually get to do. We do, so that should work. I hate it that we can’t be there in Bristol with my parents and sisters and their families but I am looking forward to sharing a Thanksgiving meal with alot of my extended family in Kansas City and a few travelling in from Arkansas.

2 Responses to “Stuff”

  1. jana said

    Well, All i can say is—I guess all those bags you have been saving for years and years are finally going to come in handy since you are shopping at Aldi’s now. 🙂 (just kidding).

    Glad you are enjoying the applesauce—I’ll leave it all for you…since I don’t think my tastebuds would like it very much.

    That is great that you have speakerphone so we’ll be able to HEAR all of your Thanksgiving Lists…I wish we could all be together, but at least you will have extended family to be with. I am just SOOO thankful (guess this will go on my list this year) that I am not totally pregnant and only 3 days away from giving brith—maybe I’ll be a bit more comfortable this year and am excited we can TRAVEL to be with some family! 🙂

    Love ya’ll!

  2. Jordana said

    Tara…I used to shop at Aldi in England to help prepare for our team! I loved the prices were so amazing…always wishing there was one around here. Aren’t they based in Germany? Did you shop at one while you were there?
    I loved the pics of your new home! Looks like you all are getting settled in very well!
    Blessings on all of you 5!

Leave a Reply

