Mississippi…It’s Like Coming Home

June 7, 2006

Heidi and I (and Dresden and Grant) recently went to Mississippi for my friend Jamie’s wedding and the sign at the state line welcoming us to Mississippi said ” Mississippi…It’s like coming home.” That is very appropriate for us because we really do feel that way. Mississippi, and especially Brookhaven, will always have a special place in all of our hearts since we lived there for several years and we have many good friends and memories there. This visit was no exception. We had a great time seeing the familiar faces of many dear friends and we made some more memories. I spent alot of my time involved in activities surrounding Jamie’s wedding, like eating. I was invited to two dinners, a lunch, and a breakfast during the two days I was there and that does not include the actual wedding! Heidi and I ate lunch with three good friends on Friday and another on Saturday. We really enjoyed catching up and the food was good too! We also stayed with another family and we were able to visit with them in the mornings and evening before and after our other activities. It was a short visit but very sweet.
Me and Mrs. Grosshans (Jamie) at her wedding reception.
And yes, that is a spot of food on the dress I borrowed from Jana!

We stopped in Atlanta on our way to Brookhaven to see Jana and Kane and Mara Kate (and to go to IKEA, of course!). These are the three babies in the backseat on our shopping trip.

We were able to meet up with Haley, who we started babysitting about fifteen years ago, when she was three. She was getting ready for her high school graduation that night and we had a gift to deliver to her from my mom and dad. I can’t believe how grown up she is!

I have no idea why these pictures posted in this order, with the Atlanta pic stuck in the middle, and I am too tired and too confused by blogspot to attempt to figure it out! It was a fun trip and I hope we can do it again before too many months or years pass! Oh, we also got the wonderful privilege of going to Janie’s Pastry, a famous little store in downtown Brookhaven, for some delicious iced cookies! There’s nothing like ’em!

3 Responses to “Mississippi…It’s Like Coming Home”

  1. Mom said

    Ok, ok, you did it! You made me jealous! I wish I could have been there too! Love, Mom

  2. jana said

    I am glad that you had a good trip—and that Atlanta was your stop over place. We enjoyed having you here for a little while during your trip!

  3. Ashley & Josh said

    I think one of my favorite memories of when y’all lived in Brookhaven was that fake cow in the front yard that waved at people driving by! haha

Leave a Reply

