A Few Funny Stories

December 2, 2005

Kids say the cutest things! I do realize that stories about the things other people’s kids say or do may not be high on the reading list of some people but since part of the purpose of this blog is to serve as a “baby book” for my kids and since I assume that most of the people who care enough to read this blog know us fairly well, here goes!

Liam, age 4, is becoming very interested in computer games. He has a few that he is pretty good at and a few that he plays with Daddy. They have one that is about the Civil War. At some points during the game, you can hear “Stonewall Jackson” say, “D_mn the Yanks!” Liam does not know that word and so he doesn’t hear that word. Every time he hears the computerized version of Jackson yell out, he laughs and says, with his arm held high in the air, “Down the Yanks!” We just smile and say it too.

The other day we were driving and I heard Liam saying something quietly to himself. As I listened closer I could tell he was trying to figure out the correct way to say a word. He was saying, ” Franch, French, Frunch…” Then he finally said, “Mom, how do you speak Franch?”

Last night Alley and I were talking about a situation where someone did something unexpected for another person. Alley said, ” Did he do it surprisily?” Who knows, maybe that will be in the next edition of Webster’s Dictionary!

Yesterday when the kids and I were doing our Bible lesson, we were discussing 1 Corinthians 10:31 “Whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” Alley asked how we can glorify God when we eat. That led to a discussion about gluttony and trying to eat healthy to take good care of our bodies, as well as manners. Liam pipes up and says, ” I LOVE chicken nuggets, they are so CHICKENY!” I guess that’s as good a word as any!

Dresden will be 7 months old tomorrow and it seems like just last week she was as tiny (well, not quite as tiny) as my new niece Mara Kate. But even though she is unable to entertain us with witty words, she is doing other things, like attempting to play “pattycake” and crawling on her belly all over the place! She is sitting up very well now and can easily get to her belly from a sitting position and she can also turn herself around in circles. She is proving to be a very determined little girl…when she sees something she wants, she goes after it! I think we can safely say that her adventures will be the subject of many future posts!



3 Responses to “A Few Funny Stories”

  1. aunt heidihttp://guinan.blogspot.com said

    So funny…I laughed outloud and I am home alone! I love hearing those stories and I can’t wait until Grant is providing some for us! Love you all!

  2. jana said

    Cute post—I love these stories. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Dad said

    I am looking forward to all those future posts as your children attempt to master the English language and the funny things they do in this online baby book.

Leave a Reply

