Kershmulls

October 30, 2005

We don’t watch hardly any television in our home but somewhere along the way, the kids have discovered commercials. Liam calls them “kershmulls”. The kids and I just spent several days in Kansas City, Missouri, visiting lots of family. While there, my two oldest ended up watching some cartoons and things since there weren’t any other children around, not many toys and it was a little too chilly to be outside for too long. I didn’t realize until last night, our first night home, just how influential those little advertisements that adults tend to use for a bathroom break or to get a load of laundry out, can be to young children. We did our usual bedtime routine, involving reading a chapter in a book and praying and then, just before I turned out the light, Alley asked me, “Is this a Tempur-Pedic mattress?” I said “No” and then she said,” How am I going to get to sleep?” I told her she would manage somehow and laughed to myself as I went out the door. Hopefully, thoughts of Tempur-Pedic mattresses will soon leave her head as she prepares for her stage debut later this week!

2 Responses to “Kershmulls”

  1. Jordana said

    thanks for the laugh! 🙂

  2. Aunt Janahttp://www.barkerhappenings.blogspot.com said

    How funny! Kids sure do say the darndest things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

