Sick

September 6, 2005

I am suffering from a pretty bad cold. Liam is getting over it and Dresden is a day or so behind me. So far, Alley and Michael have been spared. The hardest part about this cold is that my job of taking care of a 4 month old is harder when that 4 month old has a runny nose and a fever and harder still since I absolutely don’t even feel like doing the job even if it wasn’t extra demanding right now. Needs go up and strength goes down. I have been up for about 2 hours in the middle of the night the last two nights trying to console a feverish, fussy baby just when I could use some extra rest. I am not saying all this to complain :), but it has reminded me of some things. First of all, it reminds me that God gives us strength even when we know we don’t have it. We are weak, He is strong. This, of course, is true in many more situations than a common head cold but it’s good to be reminded of it.

Also, it reminds me of “agape” love or “love in action”. I don’t feel like being up in the night with the baby but I love my baby so I do it anyway and when I am actually carrying out my motherly duties, I am able, at least to a degree, to stop thinking about myself and my own needs and concentrate on loving in deed my precious baby who can’t do anything to make herself feel better. Mothers learn this very quickly, as we are “on duty” 24/7, sick or not, tired or not. And even though this may sound like a burden, we actually find great satisfaction in doing what God made us and called us to do and we would want it no other way.

I am also reminded as I look around my house, that I need to do the important things and the dishes and laundry will be there when I feel better and my children feel better.

It is also nice to know that God planned for me to have this cold at this time for any number of reasons, many of which I may never know. I know the Puritans believed that we should be thankful for even small trials as they prepare us to be more understanding and compassionate when others experience similar things. This is important but I am also thankful that my current “trial” is just a cold and not something much worse, possibly requiring me to be sitting at the bedside of my sick child who is in the hospital. It is good for me to remember that it can always be much worse and all I can do is trust God. Somehow, as I remember these things, I don’t feel quite so bad.

5 Responses to “Sick”

  1. Dad said

    I think you have exactly the right perspective on things. When you are going through trials, it’s hard to remember a lot of the things you mentioned. Love you!!

  2. Mom said

    Excellent post. Thanks for the reminder. 3 John 4 Love, Mom

  3. jana said

    Tara, Good post. It is a good reminder. It really amazes me how many spiritual lessons can be learned about God as our Father by being a parent. I don’t know many, but am already beginning to learn.

    I hope you and little Dresden are feeling better soon! Love you all!

  4. Heidi said

    Hey- I am sorry Grant gave you his little cold…and that he indirectly gave it to Dresden. Thanks for going to the park with us today. I hope the fresh air helped.

  5. Tara said

    Yes, the fresh air was nice. And the cold wasn’t Grant’s fault. As I sometimes tell my kids, “everything is Adam’s fault!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

